Outstanding Adopters of Air Quality Purification Zones Recognized to Encourage Air Quality Protection


To encourage private enterprises and communities to participate in adopting air quality purification zones, the EPA held a competition to recognize outstanding adoptions. As of the end of 2021, there were 549 air quality purification zones. The competition was participated in by 68 adoptive enterprises and communities recommended by 19 county and city environmental bureaus. After on-site evaluation and final selection, 61 entities with outstanding achievements were selected. On 17 January 2022, the Award Ceremony for Excellent Adoptive Entities for Air Quality Purification Zones for the Year 2021 was held in Taipei, where medals were presented by the deputy minister of the EPA, Chih-Hsiu Shen. 

The EPA thanked the adoptive entities that won the awards for the year 2021. A total of 61 awards were presented this year, including 35 special contribution awards, eight especially outstanding awards, six outstanding awards, eight excellent work awards, and four sustainable care awards. In addition, for local environmental bureaus with outstanding performance, Taoyuan City and Tainan City were awarded the outstanding promotion awards, while Changhua County and Chiayi City received ecological pilot awards. These awards were to thank the county and city environmental bureaus for promoting the adoption of air quality purification zones and green beautification work and disseminating greening and environmental protection concepts.

The unique contribution award is the highest award at present. In addition to being deeply recognized for several years of hard work, the winning entities should also have made selfless efforts and actively guarded the environment to win this award. Many enterprises that won the 2021 special contribution award had also won awards for several consecutive years. The winning enterprises included: Taipower (Jianshan and Tongxiao Power Plants), Compal Electronics, ChipMOS Technologies, Sun Moon Lake Wen Wu Temple, CPC Corporation Refining Department-Dalin Refinery, Pingtung County Ligang Township Longweixiang Charity Association, Chung Hwa Pulp Corporation Hualien Plant, Walsin Lihwa Corporation Taichung Branch, Yeong Chin Machinery Industries, Hon Chuan Company, YFY Packaging Inc. Taoyung Plant. 

Among the communities that won the special contribution awards was Ming Chuan Community Development Association in Yilan City and Yilan County, for making a unique scenic route in Yilan. Sifang Community Development Association in Yongjing Township, Changhua County built their adopted air quality purification zone into a natural ecological classroom and successfully restored fireflies and attracted rhinoceros beetles to inhabit it. In addition to purifying the air, the work also helped develop the local ecological tourism industry by enhancing local characteristics.    

Excerpt from Major Environmental Policies, February 2022

Environmental Protection Administration, R.O.C.(Taiwan)
Go Back